Current trends on social media: influential albums

Sorry for the lack of recent posts. I’ve been working (yay!), so I haven’t had much time for writing.

I’m afraid this will be a relatively short post, but maybe it’ll be something fun for you.

I’ve been seeing a lot of posts on Facebook (as well as some tweets on Twitter) about influential albums. You know, like, which albums were the most influential for you during your teens? Or, during your pre-teens? Which albums made a big impact on you during high school. That kind of stuff.

Yes, this is me. A young, young me. Here I am, back in my high school days. I loved music a lot back then, too. That guitar was the first I owned. Alas, I never learned to play much of anything with it. As for the hair, I was aiming for The Beatles but it came out more like Lloyd Christmas. Youth.
Yes, this is me. A young, young me. Here I am, back in my high school days. I loved music a lot back then, too. That guitar was the first I owned. Alas, I never learned to play much of anything with it. As for the hair, I was aiming for The Beatles but it came out more like Lloyd Christmas. Youth.

I gave it some thought, and I decided to try to make these lists myself.

Ready for them?

I’ll try not to repeat artists / bands too much, but one has to realize that there are sometimes major differences between group output and solo output, so exceptions are occasionally made.

Albums that made a big impression on me, pre-teen years (and in no specific order):

01. The Beatles, “Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band”

02. Creedence Clearwater Revival, “Chronicle”
03. Neil Diamond, “His 12 Greatest Hits” (THIS version, not the generally known version)
04. Ray Stevens, “Greatest Hits” (THIS version, not any of the many others)
05. The Beach Boys, “Little Deuce Coupe: Greatest Car Songs” (a budget compilation, one of the first CDs my dad owned, we listened to it a lot)
06. Styx, “The Grand Illusion”
07. Harry Chapin, “On the Road to Kingdom Come”

08. Billy Joel, “An Innocent Man”
09. Elton John, “Greatest Hits”
10. Paul McCartney, “Tripping the Live Fantastic” ** Yes, I know, Beatles-related.
11. ABBA, “The Album”
12. Simon and Garfunkel, “Greatest Hits”

Albums that made a big impression on me, my teen years (and in no specific order):

01. The Beatles, “Revolver”
02. Weezer, “Pinkerton”
03. The Beach Boys, “Today”
04. Green Day, “Dookie”

05. Queen, “A Night at the Opera”
06. Nirvana, “In Utero”
07. Tom Petty, “Wildflowers”
08. Oasis, “(What’s the Story) Morning Glory”
09. Pink Floyd, “The Wall”
10. Simon and Garfunkel, “Bookends”

11. Smashing Pumpkins, “Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness”
12. REM, “Automatic for the People”

Albums that I’d consider current favorites (and in no specific order):
01. Pink Floyd, “Wish You Were Here”
02. The Beach Boys, “Sunflower”
03. The Beatles, “Revolver” (yup, still makes the list)
04. Queen, “Sheer Heart Attack”

05. The Monkees, “Headquarters”
06. The Kinks, “The Kinks are The Village Green Preservation Society”
07. Bob Dylan, “Love and Theft”
08. Weezer, “Make Believe”

09. My Chemical Romance, “The Black Parade”
10. Led Zeppelin, “Physical Graffiti”
11. The Boomtown Rats, “The Fine Art of Surfacing”
12. Brian Wilson, “That Lucky Old Sun” ** Yes, I know, Beach Boys-related.

Dig it!

OK, your turn. Share your lists in my comments space!

Leave a Reply

