Losing John Lennon, but keeping the music: Reflecting on some Lennon favorites

For a lot of music fans, Dec. 8 can be a dark day.

In 1980, it was the day that John Lennon was shot and killed. His loss is still felt today. What music did we lose out on? Would a reunion of The Beatles been in the cards? What humanitarian acts would he have undertaken? What about painting, drawing, other art?

What would he have done with his sons, Julian and Sean? What would he have thought of the rise of rap / hip-hop music? What would he have thought of music by his contemporaries that came out in the 1980s, ’90s, 2000s, etc.?

Last year, I wrote about Lennon’s death for the St. Cloud Times. I reflected on his loss and legacy. I talked about how John was gone, but that his music remains with us.

This year, I thought I’d look at my favorite Lennon solo works, as well as my favorites of his work with The Beatles. This vein will undoubtedly be more enjoyable in terms of revisiting the music, rather than rehashing the sad, tragic death.

I’ll share my favorites, and I hope you’ll share yours! We’ll make our Dec. 8 remembrances of John Lennon really come alive with his music.

Shall we begin?

Favorite solo pieces

01. “Instant Karma!” (single).

02. “Mother” from the “Plastic Ono Band” album.

03. “I Found Out” from the “Plastic Ono Band” album.

04. “God” from the “Plastic Ono Band” album.

05. “Jealous Guy” from the “Imagine” album.

06. “Gimme Some Truth” from the “Imagine” album.

07. “How?” from the “Imagine” album.

08. “New York City” from the “Some Time in New York City” album.

09. “Well (Baby Please Don’t Go)” from the “John Lennon Anthology” box set.

10. “Bring on the Lucie (Freda Peeple)” from the “John Lennon Anthology” box set.

11. “Out the Blue” from the “Mind Games” album.

12. “Going Down on Love” from the “Walls and Bridges” album.

13. “Old Dirt Road” from the “Walls and Bridges” album.

14. “#9 Dream” from the “Walls and Bridges” album.

15. “Move Over Ms. L” (single).

16. “Be My Baby” from the “John Lennon Anthology” box set.

17. “Stand by Me” from the “Rock ‘n’ Roll” album.

18. “Just Because” from the “Rock ‘n’ Roll” album.

19. “Real Love” from the “John Lennon Anthology” box set.

20. “(Just Like) Starting Over” from the “Double Fantasy” album.

21. “Beautiful Boy (Darling Boy)” from the “Double Fantasy” album.

22. “Watching the Wheels” from the “Double Fantasy” album.

23. “I’m Stepping Out” from the “Milk and Honey” album.

24. “Nobody Told Me” from the “Milk and Honey” album.

25. “Grow Old With Me” from the “Milk and Honey” album.

Favorite Beatles pieces

01. “Twist and Shout” from the “Please Please Me” album.

02. “All I’ve Got to Do” from the “With the Beatles” album.

03. “A Shot of Rhythm and Blues” from the “Live at the BBC” album.

04. “This Boy” (single).

05. “You Can’t Do That” from the “A Hard Day’s Night” album.

06. “No Reply” from the “Beatles for Sale” album.

07. “Bad Boy” from the “Past Masters Vol. 1” compilation.

08. “You’ve Got to Hide Your Love Away” from the “Help!” album.

09. “Nowhere Man” from the “Rubber Soul” album.

10. “In My Life” from the “Rubber Soul” album.

11. “Rain” (single).

12. “Strawberry Fields Forever” (single).

13. “Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds” from the “Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band” album.

14. “A Day in the Life” from the “Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band” album.

15. “All You Need is Love” (single).

16. “I Am the Walrus” from the “Magical Mystery Tour” album.

17. “Revolution” (single).

18. “Dear Prudence” from “The Beatles (The White Album).”

19. “Happiness is a Warm Gun” from “The Beatles (The White Album).”

20. “Yer Blues” from “The Beatles (The White Album).”

21. “Hey Bulldog” from the “Yellow Submarine” album.

22. “Don’t Let Me Down” (single).

23. “Come Together” from the “Abbey Road” album.

24. “Dig a Pony” from the “Let It Be” album.

25. “Free as a Bird” (single) from the “Anthology 1” compilation.

There we go! Those would be my favorites today (Dec. 8, 2016). Who knows what they’d be tomorrow, or what they’ll be next year.

Your turn! Please share your favorite songs with me, I’m eager to hear them. We can open up some discussion in the comments, too.

2 thoughts on “Losing John Lennon, but keeping the music: Reflecting on some Lennon favorites

  1. Great stuff, Chris
    The Beatles got me into music and Lennon was my favorite. Yeah, I’m an old fart.
    Lennon asked Cheap Trick to record with him during the “Double Fantasy” sessions, but none of it was ever used. He liked Bun E. Carlos’ drumming. He mentions it in the recent interview that appears on my Facebook and Twitter feeds. I haven’t posted it on WordPress, yet.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Please correct me if I’m wrong, but the Cheap Trick version of “I’m Losing You” finally got a release on the “John Lennon Anthology” box set, didn’t it? Could have sworn it was, but maybe I’m getting my trivia all mixed up.

    Still, the idea of the “Double Fantasy” tracks taking on that great Cheap Trick sound definitely whets the appetite. I know Jack Douglas was the Cheap Trick producer on their early big records. I wonder what Cheap Trick could have done with songs like “Cleanup Time,” or with highlights like “Watching the Wheels” and “Woman.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

